Portugal vs Ghana : Head To Head, Stats, Predicted Lineups & Scores

Portugal vs Ghana Head To Head, Stats, Predicted Lineups & Scores
Portugal vs Ghana
Advertisements

Ghana kicks off their World Cup campaign in 2022 against former European champions Portugal, who many have tipped to win the trophy for the first time.

Portugal will be looking to improve on their World Cup performance in 2018, when they were knocked out in the second round by Uruguay. 

The Selecao Das Quinnas’ best World Cup result was third place in 1966. They qualified for the previous five tournaments in a row, making it to the knockout rounds three times (2006, 2010 & 2018).

Advertisements

ALSO READ: Ronaldo Sends Warning To Ghana Ahead Of Qatar World Cup

Meanwhile, after missing the 2018 edition in Russia, the Ghana Black Stars are back on track to compete in their fourth World Cup after qualifying for the first time in 2006. 

Ghana has a good World Cup record, having qualified from their group twice previously, including the 2010 World Cup, where they reached the quarter-finals for the first time as an African team.

Portugal vs Ghana Head-To-Head

Portugal wins: 1
Ghana wins: 0  
Draws: 0
Portugal goals: 2
Ghana goals: 1

Portugal vs Ghana Previous Meeting (Match History)

This is the second time the two sides will meet at the World Cup, having met in 2014, with Portugal winning 2-1. Asamoah Gyan leveled the scoresheet with an own goal (John Boye) in the first half (30th minutes), but Ronaldo secured a triumph for the Portuguese side on the 80th minute.

ALSO READ: 2022 World Cup: Fixtures, Dates, Stadiums, Prize, Ball, Kick-Off-Times & Full Schedule For Qatar Tournament

Portugal has four victories and two draws in their previous five matches, whereas Ghana Black Stars have three wins, one draw, and two losses.

Both teams come into the game in fantastic shape, having won their pre-tournament warmup games. Ghana stunned Switzerland, while Portugal easily defeated Nigeria.

Portugal vs Ghana FIFA World Ranking

Despite being ranked 61st in the world by FIFA, the Black Stars Ghana are known for springing surprises and regularly putting in good performances at FIFA age-grade competitions. 

Portugal, on the other side, is currently ranked ninth in the world by FIFA following their stunning performance to win their first major tournament, defeating hosts France (1-0) in the Euro 2016 final.

Portugal vs Ghana World Cup 2022

When: Thursday, November 24, 2022 on 4P.M local (1600 GMT)
Qatar Time: 19:00
Central Standard Time (CDT): 10:00 am  
East Coast Time (ET): 11:00 am
Pacific Time (PT): 8:00 am   
UK Time (GMT): 16:00

Where: Stadium 974 in Doha

Stadium Capacity: 40,000

Portugal vs Ghana Predicted Line-Up
Portugal

Costa; Cancelo, Pepe, Dias, Guerreiro; Neves, Carvalho, Fernandes; B. Silva, Ronaldo, Leao

Last 5 matches (Most recent first)

Win, Lose, Win, Lose, Win

Ghana

Ati Zigi; Lamptey, Amartey, Djiku, Baba; Partey, Abdul Samed; Sulemana, Kudus, J. Ayew; Williams

Last 5 matches (Most recent first)

Win, Win, Loss, Loss, Win

Portugal vs Ghana Prediction

As one of the favorites to win this year’s World Cup in Qatar, football analysts predict that Portugal will defeat Ghana three goals to one  (3-1)

SOURCE: www.hellovybes.com

Advertisements

Eben Mugeez

Eben Mugeez is a publicist who owns Hello Vybes, covers and publish stories about celebrities, entertainment news in Ghana, Sports, Economic, Business more.

Leave a Reply